The SUNY Oneonta Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma invites 17 of its top business students to join “the Best in Business,” an expanding network of 750,000 students and alumni worldwide. Only the students who ranked in the top 10 percent of the baccalaureate programs and top 20 percent of graduate programs at schools accredited by AACSB International- the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business- are eligible for this invitation.  Lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a program at a school accredited by AACSB International. Membership reaches across six continents and 160 countries worldwide.

The Dean of the School of Economics and Business, Dr. Yen, along with three other SUNY Oneonta Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter representatives, Dr. Buchan-Advisor, Dr. Durkin-Vice President and Dr. Flynn-Vice President, made appearances in the classrooms of the 17 students this past week during the fall “tapping” ceremony.  These students were recognized properly for their outstanding academic achievements in front of their classmates and peers as they were invited to join the expanding SUNY Oneonta Chapter.

The induction ceremony will be held on April 22, 2016 at 3:30 in the Otsego Grille of Morris Conference Center. Congratulations and continued success to the following invitees:

Tim Boss, Taylor Burrows, Elizabeth Chichester, Paul Hotaling, Meaghan Kristol, John Marano, Dana Matedero, Benjamin Merrill, Sean Mockler, Delaney Nichols, Ryan O’Mahoney, Thomas Reilly, Parker Ruetz, Ashley Shirreffs, Skylar Van Dyke, Joseph Volino, and Kathryn White.

Current members: Shane Irwin, Colleen Shannon, Kellyann Turner & Michelle Rosenberg. Fall 2015 invitees: Taylor Burrows, Ashley Shireffs & Skylar Van Dyke.

Current members: Nick Moore, Sarah Planken & Colleen Shannon (all officers). Fall 2015 invitees: Paul Hotaling, Skylar Van Dyke & Parker Ruetz.

Current members: Kellyann Turner (officer) & Ashley Perry. Fall 2015 invitees: Parker Ruetz & Sean Mockler.

The SUCO Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma wish to congratulate the following student officers who will serve a one-year term beginning September 1, 2015: Shane Irwin, President; Nick Moore, Co-Vice President of Programming; Colleen Shannon, Co-Vice President of Programming; Sarah Planken, Co-Vice President of Membership; and Kellyann Turner, Co-Vice President of Membership.

Dr. Fan Chen’s (Assistant Professor of Finance) paper “Pre-trade Transparency in Over-the-Counter Markets” (co-authored with Zhuo Zhong) won the Best Paper Award at the 5th Behavioral Finance and Capital Markets Conference in Adelaide, Australia. The conference is sponsored by the Pacific-Basin Finance Journal. The prize of the award is AUD 1500. More information can found at the weblink:

Mr. Charles Bogosta

Mr. Charles Bogosta has graciously accepted an invitation by Dr. David Yen (Dean of the School of Economics and Business) to deliver the Spring 2016 Distinguished Speak Series Lecture to students in the School of Economics and Business on Wednesday, March 30. Details regarding the time and location of the talk will follow.

As executive vice president of UPMC and president of UPMC International Services, Mr. Bogosta oversees collaborations that provide UPMC’s world-class medical care, technology and services to health systems, hospitals, doctors and patients around the world. These partnerships and clinical initiatives span nearly a dozen countries and feature collaborations ranging from remote pathology consultations, to oncology hospital construction.

International projects in Mr. Bogosta’s broad portfolio include the Istituto Mediterraneo per i Trapianti e Terapie ad Alta Specializzazione (ISMETT), a leading transplant hospital in Palermo, Italy; the development of a new biomedical research center in Sicily; and advanced cancer treatment centers in Italy and Ireland. Mr. Bogosta also serves as president of the UPMC CancerCenter, an integrated, international community network of treatment facilities, cancer physicians and other health care specialists.

Before joining UPMC in 1997, Mr. Bogosta was one of the founding members of Corporate Health Dimensions, a firm specializing in the direct contracting of pharmacies and outpatient clinics for major U.S. companies. He also served as an executive at Health Enterprises Management, which financed and operated freestanding surgery centers and imaging centers.

Mr. Bogosta earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Economics from the State University of New York at Oneonta and a Master of Arts in Educational Administration from Bowling Green University.

Shane Irwin has been selected by the Officers of the SUCO Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) to attend the 2015 BGS Global Leadership Summit which will be held in Orlando, Florida.

The Summit will encourage attendees to tap into their inherent talents and abilities, to uncover their unique leadership style. Students will leave the Summit with a deep understanding of how to use their strengths as individual leaders, as well as members of a team. Shane will join more than 400 other high-achieving business school students from around the globe in Orlando for a weekend of hands-on development. He will experience relationship building activities, engaging talks and an exciting team competition.

Shane Irwin

The School of Economics and Business is pleased to announce the publication of the 2014-2015 School Newsletter, which is available here.

[Uncategorized] June 30, 2015 2:40 pm

On May 15 in the Otsego Grille, the School of Economics and Business held its second annual Graduation Reception. During this event, special recognition was given to Beta Gamma Sigma members, Academic Achievement Award recipients, Student Advisory Council members, and graduates with a GPA of 3.5 or higher (the latter two of which were presented with special graduation cords to wear in the ceremony). Additionally, Jim Lozano ’82, President and CEO of CFO For Hire, was the evening’s keynote speaker.

Dean Yen addresses the audience

SAC members Danny Lounsbury and Abby Renneman present Jim Lozano '82 with plaque

BAC members Mike Pentaris, Grace Tsao, and Aimee Vogel in attendance

Members of the Business Advisory Council of the School of Economics and Business came to campus on May 2, 2015, for a day-long meeting with Dean Yen, SEB faculty, and students. Topics discussed included: Innovative Strategies and Course Design in Entrepreneurship Education; Online Education for Business Courses and Curriculum; and Successful Engagement with Business Practitioners to Enhance Educational Programs.

Below are a collection of photos from the meeting. Meeting minutes can be found here.


The School of Economics and Business is pleased to announce the publication of the 2014-2015 Dean’s Letter, which is available here.

The Student Advisory Council of the School of Economics and Business is pleased to announce the publication of its Spring 2015 Student Newsletter! Click here to view the latest issue.